Around the Gallery: FGT

Being in the museum 5 days a week I have noticed myself becoming almost desensitized to all these great works of art.  There have been certain points during this internship in which a work would grab my attention or I may have noticed in a different way.

In one week I was able to have two amazing and emotional experiences with the works of one of my favorite artists, Felix Gonzalez Torres.

His piece Untitled (Strange  Music) has been on display since I have been coming to the modern wing (2 years now) and I always make it a point to pass by.  The work uses light bulbs to discuss the how at some point all comes to an end, and shall be replaced.  This was the first time that I have ever seen any of the light bulbs go out, and it was very emotional.

On another day after I presented to a group of high schoolers Untitled (Portrait of Ross in LA) we were able to witness the replenishing of the Fruit Flashers candy.   After the discussion I lead with the students we all shared a solemn yet joyous interaction with the piece that many museum visitors are not able to experience.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted on July 8, 2011, in Around the Gallery, Kris Derek. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment